Photo: Catherine Ivill – AMA/Getty Images

Harry Kane has won the PFA Fans’ Premier League Player of the Season award ahead of Chelsea’s N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard, in a voting that had over 40,000 fans.

The Tottenham striker won the award after a vote of more than 16,000 supporters was enough for him to be the winner, beating Kante and Hazard into second and third place despite their strong title-winning performances for the Blues.

Besides the trio, Alexis Sanchez, Dele Alli and Romelu were also nominated for the award.

The top six were chosen by Sky Sports’ expert panel, which included Sky Sports pundits Paul Merson and Peter Beagrie, Mike Riley – general manager of the Professional Game Match Officials, and Malcolm Clarke – chairman of the Football Supporters’ Federation.

See how the votes turned out:

1st: Harry Kane (16,378 votes)

2nd: N’Golo Kante (13,515 votes)

3rd: Eden Hazard (8,412 votes)

4th: Alexis Sanchez (6,727 votes)

5th: Dele Alli (3,507 votes)

6th: Romelu Lukaku (955 votes)

Kane has had a very good season, no doubt about that. But does it warrant him winning the award? Just because Kane scored 8 goals in his last 3 games to reach a total of 29 league goals don’t mean he should beat Kante and Hazard to the award?

Are those three games all it takes to win an award?

At least, it’s only a fan award, so one can only expect so much bias.

About the Author

Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.