Photo: Getty Images

Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante has been nominated for the Ballon d’Or award after an amazing season with Chelsea.

The 26-year-old was one of the first five names revealed for the prestigious award, which was aligned with FIFA from 2010 to 2015. It is judged solely by a panel of journalists and is run by France Football magazine. The remaining names on the 30-man list will be released over the course of today.

Kante played a key role in Chelsea’s dominance last term in our title triumph last season after moving to Stamford Bridge from Leicester City. His performances earned him with individual awards as he was named the PFA Player of the Year and the FWA Footballer of the Year, as well as the Chelsea Players’ Player of the Year.

Kante was the first Premier League star to be announced in the running for the prestigious award. Although Cristiano has been tipped by many to win it, the Chelsea midfielder can go really far as he’s indeed one of the best.


Neymar – Paris Saint-Germain

N’Golo Kante – Chelsea

Luka Modric – Real Madrid

Paulo Dybala – Juventus

Marcelo – Real Madrid

Edin Dzeko – Roma

Harry Kane – Tottenham

David De Gea – Manchester United

Robert Lewandowski – Bayern Munich

Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City

Philippe Coutinho – Liverpool

Luis Suarez – Barcelona

Jan Oblak – Atletico Madrid

Sergio Ramos – Real Madrid

Dries Mertens – Napoli

About the Author

Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.