WAS THE REFEREE RIGHT TO SEND OFF MORATA AND PEDRO? READ WHAT FORMER PREMIER LEAGUE REFEREE SAID

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Chelsea were reduced to nine men in our FA Cup third-round replay victory over Norwich at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday night.

Pedro and Alvaro Morata were sent off in extra-time and former Premier League referee Graham Poll insists both decisions were correct.

“There were also two red cards for Chelsea in extra time, and both were correct,” Poll wrote on Daily Mail.

“Pedro’s two bookings for a dive and then a lunge were absolutely stonewall.

“As for Alvaro Morata, he was shown his first yellow for diving. There was a tiny bit of contact, but nowhere near enough for a penalty.  I would have given a goal kick but Scott is well within his rights to caution him for diving.

“The video referee cannot intervene unless he thinks it was a penalty, and it definitely was not. Scott was then correct to show the Spaniard a second yellow card for dissent. Morata was in Scott’s face, waving his arms all over the place. You can’t accept that.”

About the Author

OTONY
I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.

1 Comment on "WAS THE REFEREE RIGHT TO SEND OFF MORATA AND PEDRO? READ WHAT FORMER PREMIER LEAGUE REFEREE SAID"

  1. The FA should see the category of game and select the march official. This game was confusing Scott until he became inconsistent, thus making lot of errors and ended up sending Pedro and Morata off. The game was very big for him to handle. Next time the FA should send him to Championship and other leagues below the Championship.

Comments are closed.