The linesman correctly flagged Harry Kane offside before he was brought down in the box by Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga but VAR referee Chris Kavanagh controversially ruled that Tottenham’s Harry Kane was onside in Chelsea’s Carabao Cup loss.
Referee Michael Oliver awarded Tottenham their winning spot-kick after consulting with Kavanagh.
Chelsea boss Maurizio Sarri was left furious as he showed via a laptop after the game that Kane was indeed offside.
Despite his controversial ruling against Chelsea on Tuesday, Chris Kavanagh has been chosen to officiate Chelsea’s Premier League against Newcastle United on Saturday at Stamford Bridge.
After his controversial decision in the Carabao Cup loss to Tottenham on Tuesday, it’s difficult to understand why he would be chosen to officiate the next Chelsea game.
Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg believes the VAR system got it wrong and Harry Kane was indeed offside against Chelsea.
“Harry Kane was in an offside position when the ball was played in the build-up to the award of his penalty against Chelsea — the VAR system got it wrong,” Clattenburg told Daily Mail.
Chelsea boss Maurizio Sarri said after the game: “From our position, he [Kane] was clearly offside. It depends where the camera is. If the camera is not in line it is difficult to judge whether he is offside or not.”
What’s the point of VAR if the linesman on the pitch gets the decision right and the VAR referee gets it wrong?