It’s a shame Tottenham striker Harry Kane will face no action for his attempted headbutt on Chelsea captain Cesar Azpilicueta during Chelsea’s 2-0 win over Tottenham on Wednesday night.
During a heated exchange with Azpilicueta, Kane attempted to headbutt the Chelsea captain. The incident stemmed from Kane closing down David Luiz after Spurs had returned possession to Chelsea. The Blues had earlier kicked the ball out of play for fair play with a Tottenham player down.
The FA were waiting to see whether referee Andre Marriner included the incident in his report, and whether he saw it or not. Marriner insisted he did see the incident and therefore Kane can face no further punishment.
If Marriner did see the incident as claimed, it shameful that he refused to act on it as an attempted headbutt gets the same punishment as a headbutt which is a red card. Do these referees have a set of rules for certain players?
Former Premier League referee Mark Clattenburg insists Kane should have been sent off for his attempted headbutt on Azpilicueta.
“Harry Kane can count himself lucky not to have been sent off on Wednesday,” Clattenburg told Daily Mail.
“I have experienced just how competitive matches between Chelsea and Tottenham can be and Kane lost his cool with Cesar Azpilicueta in the first half.
“The Tottenham striker deliberately moved his head towards the Chelsea captain. There looked to be minimal contact with Azpilicueta but it does not matter how severe it was.
“Even if it was an attempted headbutt, that still carries the same punishment — a red card.
“Fortunately for Kane, Azpilicueta did not make a meal of it. The incident seemed to be missed by the match officials and the FA could now take retrospective action against Kane.”
What do you think about the referee’s decision not to send Kane off against Chelsea after claiming he saw his attempted headbutt on Azpilicueta?