VERDICT ON EVERTON’S PENALTY AGAINST CHELSEA. PENALTY OR NO PENALTY?

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Getty Images

Everton were awarded a penalty in the 2-0 win over Chelsea at Goodison Park on Sunday.

With the score at 1-0, referee Anthony Taylor pointed to the spot after Marcos Alonso challenged Everton forward Richarlison inside the box. Everton midfielder Gylfi Sigurdsson scored from the rebound after Chelsea goalkeeper Kepa Arrizabalaga saved his initial penalty.

But was the referee right to award Everton a penalty?

According to former Everton midfielder Tim Cahill, the referee was right to award a penalty.

“Straight off the bat you see [Marcos] Alonso brushes him off there,” Tim Cahill told Sky Sports.

“(N’Golo) Kante deals with him here and then this is just lazy, he swings a leg at him. Off the bat that’s a penalty. It looks like he stomped on him. Now you look at the other angle and it’s soft

“What he’s done is left his foot there and he’s lifted it just a bit. It’s a catch 22. I think it’s any contact. Right now it’s the contact of foot on foot, because it’s what the referee sees in that instant not what we see in the fourth and fifth replay. I thought he stomped on him.”

Former Liverpool midfielder Jamie Redknapp agreed Taylor made the right decision to award Everton a penalty.

“Once you dangle your leg out like this you’re inviting trouble. It’s a weak challenge. I do [think it’s a penalty]. Because what he’s done has given him a problem,” Redknapp said.

“It’s an unusual position. I think you’ve got to make a decision to not even make that challenge. That summed up in the second half Alonso. Richarlison was running the other way second half and he pinned him back and then you didn’t see him.

“Once you give him a problem Alonso he’s a different player.”

About the Author

OTONY
I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.