Did Hudson-Odoi dive against Burnley? Read what Lampard said

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Getty Images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App.

Callum Hudson-Odoi was booked by referee Michael Oliver for diving against Burnley on Saturday.

Oliver initially awarded Chelsea a penalty after Hudson-Odoi fell in the box before VAR overturned the decision and Oliver booked the 18 year old.

Chelsea boss Frank Lampard has defended Hudson-Odoi following accusations he dived against Burnley.

Lampard said: “If I feel like it was a dive I would speak to Callum and say that’s not what we’re about.

“When you’re moving into the box at pace and cutting across defenders, whether VAR decides if it’s a penalty or not is one thing.

“I thought there was a lot of things going on in the game with people going down under no real contact. Their bench wanted everything that was happening.

“Ashley Barnes every time he has a contest in the air he falls to ground to get a free-kick to stick it in the box.

“Let’s be clear, these things do still happen all over football when it’s a fast game and people are trying to win.

“If it was a dive I would address it for sure. I need to look it back but I actually don’t think it’s a clean cut an argument as that.”

About the Author

OTONY
I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.