Chelsea Player of the Season revealed. And it’s an obvious choice

Photo: Getty images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Eden Hazard was the last player to win the Chelsea Player of the Season award. With 19 goals and 16 assists in all competitions in the 2018-19 campaign, after an outstanding season before his move to Real Madrid.

For the 2020-21 campaign, there were many contenders for the Player of the Season award.

The likes of Mason Mount and Christian Pulisic had a shot at the award, while also Cesar Azpilicueta, Willian, Olivier Giroud and Mateo Kovacic Kovacic also were contenders.

However, at the end, Mateo Kovacic has been chosen by fans as the winner of the 2019/20 Chelsea men’s team Player of the Season award, presented by Yokohama Tyres.

The club’s annual awards were unveiled exclusively online rather than at the usual ceremony dinner, due to Covid-19.

Only two players made more than Kovacic’s 47 appearances over the course of the season, which showed Kovacic’s influence despite the competition in the middle of the park, and Chelsea fans voted him as the best player for the club last season.

See the players who have picked up the award since 2003.

2003 – Gianfranco Zola

2004 – Frank Lampard

2005 – Frank Lampard

2006 – John Terry

2007 – Michael Essien

2008 – Joe Cole

2009 – Frank Lampard

2010 – Didier Drogba

2011 – Petr Cech

2012 – Juan Mata

2013 – Juan Mata

2014 – Eden Hazard

2015 – Eden Hazard

2016 – Willian

2017 – Eden Hazard

2018 – N’Golo Kante

2019 – Eden Hazard

Mateo Kovacic is now the latest to win the award, in his second season at the club.

About the Author

Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.