Lampard reveals what he did in the dressing room after Tammy Abraham’s penalty row with Jorginho

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Kirsty Wigglesworth/Reuters

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Chelsea were four goals to the good against Crystal Palace as Frank Lampard’s side beat the Eagles 4-0 at Stamford Bridge.

After a goalless first-half, Lampard’s side improved massively in the second-half, and ended up scoring four goals, with two of them coming from the penalty spot.

Jorginho is Chelsea’s designated penalty taker, and after his first kick, Tammy Abraham was keen on taking the second penalty. Jorginho refused and skipper Cesar Apzilicueta had to intervene and hand the ball to Jorginho to play.

Speaking after the game, Frank Lampard was pleased with how the matter was handled by the skipper and revealed that everything was sorted out in the dressing room.

“It’s been dealt with in the dressing room, it’s been dealt with,” Lampard told BT Sport after the match.

“I want leaders and I don’t mind a bit of conflict if Tammy wanted to take it because he wants a goal or whatever and gets put in his place a little bit.

“I appreciate his eagerness because his performance deserved a goal but those are the rules you don’t jump ahead of the list unless we’re so comfortable and someone is on a hat-trick and I decide.”

About the Author

VICTOR N
Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.