Confirmed: 4 Chelsea players to miss Champions League clash against Atletico Madrid

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Chelsea FC

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Chelsea have a big game on Wednesday night, as the Blues will play host to Atletico Madrid at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday.

Chelsea hold the advantage from the first leg, as Thomas Tuchel’s side got a 1-0 win away from home, with Olivier Giroud’s strike the only goal separating the two sides.

Meanwhile, Chelsea will be without four players for the game against Atletico Madrid.

Mason Mount and Jorginho will be suspended for the game against Atletico, after an accumulation of yellow cards. The duo have scored six of the 13 goals in the Tuchel era, and will surely be missed at the Bridge.

In addition to Jorginho and Mount, Thiago Silva and Tammy Abraham have also been ruled out of the Champions League clash due to injury.

The 36-year-old veteran defender Thiago Silva hasn’t played for the Blues since limping off during the first half of the win against Tottenham Hotspur on February 4. Although the Brazilian returned to the match-day squad for the game against Everton, he suffered a setback in training last week and is again on the sidelines.

Tammy Abraham is also ruled out of the tie, as he has since been struggling with an ankle injury sustained in the 2-0 victory over Newcastle United. Tammy Abraham hasn’t featured in the last five games for Chelsea, and will also sit out this game.

About the Author

Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.

Be the first to comment on "Confirmed: 4 Chelsea players to miss Champions League clash against Atletico Madrid"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.