Joe Cole: We got away with Azpilicueta penalty incident

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Matthew Lewis/UEFA/Getty Images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Chelsea defeated Atletico Madrid 2-0 at Stamford Bridge on Wednesday night, as the Blues have now sealed passage into the quarter-final of the Champions League.

A first-half goal from Hakim Ziyech and a late Emerson Palmieri goal sealed the victory for Chelsea, but it could easily have been different if Atletico were awarded a penalty in the first half.

In the 26th minute of play, Atletico Madrid forward Yannick Carrasco had gone behind Cesar Azpilicueta, and the Chelsea captain slightly tapped him in the penalty box, with the Atletico man falling immediately but the referee waved away penalty shouts.

When analysing the incident, former Chelsea star Joe Cole admitted that Chelsea got away with that one. 8 minutes later, Hakim Ziyech scored the first goal to put Chelsea in front.

“We’ve [Chelsea] definitely got away with one there,” Cole told BT Sport at half-time.

“Cesar [Azpilicueta] knows he has undercooked the pass back and knows he’s in trouble.

“In this day and age, I don’t know why the ref hasn’t gone to VAR and had a look at it.”

About the Author

VICTOR N
Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.

Be the first to comment on "Joe Cole: We got away with Azpilicueta penalty incident"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.