Simeone congratulates Chelsea as he responds to penalty incident

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Photo: Matthew Lewis/UEFA/Getty Images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Atletico Madrid boss Diego Simeone was very humble in defeat as he saw his side lose to Chelsea home and away.

Chelsea won the first leg 1-0 and were 2-0 winners in the second leg, with goals from Hakim Ziyech and Emerson Palmieri sealing a massive win for Chelsea.

However, 8 minutes before Ziyech’s goal, there was a major contention, as Chelsea skipper Cesar Azpilicueta seemed to have brought down Yannick Carrasco in the penalty box, which the referee waved away and VAR made no calls for him to check the incident.

A penalty would have changed the dynamics of the game, but Simeone chose not to talk about that and rather praised Chelsea for being the better side.

“In the tie they were fair winners,” Simeone said to Diario AS. “The first game was even and today they were superior. We tried to pressure them high and make it difficult for them to get out, but they went ahead again.”

“I’m not looking for excuses,” he said when asked about the arguable penalty on Carrasco. “They were better. When the rival is better, you have to congratulate and reset yourself to think about La Liga again.”

About the Author

VICTOR N
Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.

Be the first to comment on "Simeone congratulates Chelsea as he responds to penalty incident"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.