‘Welcome Bonus’ – The amount Chelsea will receive for joining the European Super League

Photo: Getty images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Chelsea alongside Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Arsenal and Tottenham Hotspur have all agreed to be founding clubs of the European Super League.

According to The Guardian, Chelsea and the other 11 founding clubs of the European Super League have each been promised a €200m-€300m “welcome bonus” by JP Morgan Chase, the US investment bank financing the controversial project.

The Wall Street giant said on Monday it has committed €3.25bn to getting the new league off the ground and that it would be shared between the clubs when the new competition begins.

The founding clubs of the new league are Milan, Arsenal, Atlético Madrid, Chelsea, Barcelona, Internazionale, Juventus, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Real Madrid and Tottenham Hotspur. Three more permanent members are expected to be announced in the next few weeks.

About the Author

I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.