Former referee explains why VAR didn’t cancel Leicester’s goal against Chelsea for handball

Enter your e-mail address to receive the latest news about Chelsea FC:

Powered by FeedPress

Leicester City midfielder Youri Tielemans scored the winning goal as Leicester City beat Chelsea 1-0 in the FA Cup final.

Many Chelsea fans believe the goal should have been cancelled as the ball made contact with Ayoze Perez’s left-hand, as the Spanish forward attempted to intercept a Reece James’ pass.

Former Premier League referee Peter Walton has explained why VAR didn’t cancel the goal for handball.

He told BT Sport: “It’s a subjective viewpoint whether or not it was handball.

“Personally, I don’t think it was a handball, the ball has deflected off Perez’s knee and just caught his arm. That in itself people may argue is handball, I don’t think it was.

“However, VAR would not have not got involved in that incident because the actual goalscoring opportunity didn’t occur immediately when there was a potential handball.

“There was seven seconds or so between that potential handball and the ball hitting the back of the net.

“That’s not immediately and the law states it’s only an offence if the goalscoring offence happens immediately, so good use of VAR.”

About the Author

OTONY
I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.

Be the first to comment on "Former referee explains why VAR didn’t cancel Leicester’s goal against Chelsea for handball"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.