“Player should have been sent off for what he did in Chelsea’s 7-0 victory over Norwich”

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Ex-Fifa and Premier League referee Keith Hackett believes Norwich star Mathias Normann should have been sent off for denying an “obvious goal” in Norwich City’s 7-0 loss to Chelsea.

Normann had his arm extended as he blocked Antonio Rudiger’s goal-bound shot, with referee Andy Madley awarding Chelsea a penalty after advice from VAR.

“Well, I think he’s lucky to escape a red card,” Hackett told Football Insider.

“For me, that is the denial of an obvious goal.

“So, he’s lucky not to get red. I think it might be that Andy Madley did not fully see it. I don’t think he viewed the monitor, I think he should have done.

“The score and game situation does not matter.

“I generally praise his performance, I think Andy Madley is now becoming an established referee in the league.

“You have to apply the law. He’s handled, the referee has confirmed that he’s handled by awarding the penalty. But he’s prevented a goal.

“If he wasn’t there and he hadn’t handled it, the ball would have gone in the back of the net. There might have been a chance of the goalkeeping saving it but for me, that’s a red.”

About the Author

I eat, sleep and live Chelsea.

Be the first to comment on "“Player should have been sent off for what he did in Chelsea’s 7-0 victory over Norwich”"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.