Tuchel beats Pep Guardiola again

Photo: Getty images

To get news directly on the go, download the Real Chelsea Fans App

Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola may have gotten the victory on the pitch in the games between Manchester City and Chelsea this season, but the Blues boss Thomas Tuchel has been the one clearing the awards.

After guiding Chelsea to the Champions League victory last season, FIFA has recognised the Chelsea manager as the best coach of the year.

See the Men’s Coach category below:

Pep Guardiola (Man City)
Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea) – Winner
Roberto Mancini (Italy)

It wasn’t Tuchel who was on the awards alone as Chelsea women’s coach Emma Hayes also won the best women’s coach award.

Women’s Coach

Lluís Cortés (Barcelona)
Emma Hayes (Chelsea) – Winner
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands and England)

Chelsea goalkeeper Edouard Mendy also won the best goalkeeper award.

Men’s Goalkeeper

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy, AC Milan and PSG)
Edouard Mendy (Senegal and Chelsea) – Winner
Manuel Neuer (Germay and Bayern Munich)

Chelsea women’s goalkeeper Ann-Katrin Berger however couldn’t bag an award as she lost to Christiane Endler.

Women’s Goalkeeper

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany and Chelsea)
Christiane Endler (Chiles, PSG and Lyon) – Winner
Stephanie Lynn Marie Labbé (Canada, Rosengrad and PSG)

About the Author

Chelsea is more than just a football club to me; it's a passion I share, and my affinity with the Chelsea badge is one that will last forever. As far as watching my favourite team is concerned, I'd rather miss a meal than miss a Chelsea game.